OSO offers ‘pop’ season finale

Home » Arts & Entertainment
Posted April 8, 2023 | By Ocala Gazette Staff

[Courtesy of Reilly Arts Center]

What do you get when you pair music inspired by Andy Warhol with classic tunes such as “Rhapsody in Blue?” The Ocala Symphony Orchestra’s (OSO) season finale concert, “(POP) Music Americas: from Rio to The Big Apple.” 

The concerts will be presented at 7:30 p.m. on April 29 and 3 p.m. April 30 at the Reilly Arts Center, at 500 NE 9th St., Ocala. They will feature iconic pieces such as George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue,” with pianist Evan Haile, and new works such as Michael Daugherty’s “Fifteen: Symphonic Fantasy on the Art of Andy Warhol,” which will have its Southern U.S. premiere during the event. The symphony was inspired by Warhol, perhaps the world’s most recognizable proponent of pop art, and the title from his quotation, “In the future, everyone will be world-famous for 15 minutes,” according to the news release.

Also featured will be “Danzón No. 2” by Arturo Marquez and “Bachianas Brasileiras No. 7,” a Brazilian homage to Johann Sebastian Bach by Heitor Villa-Lobos. 

Before the concerts, there are two free events:

• Coffee with the Conductor,
10 a.m., April 14, at the Marion Theatre: Maestro Matthew Wardell will offer a look at the pieces and composers. 

• OSO Open Rehearsal for Students and Families, 7 p.m., April 28, at the Reilly Arts Center: Guests will hear from the conductor and watch musicians up close. Pizza is provided on a first-come, first-served basis. RSVP to info@reillyartscenter.com.

Tickets for the April 29 and 30 concerts range from $15 to $40 and may be purchased at reillyartscenter.com or via the box office, at (352) 351-1606. 

newspaper icon

Support community journalism

The first goal of the Ocala Gazette is to deliver trustworthy local journalism so corruption, misinformation and abuse are not hidden from the public or unchallenged.

We count on community support to continue this important work. Please donate or subscribe: