

Marion County Board of County Commissioners

McPherson Governmental Campus

601 SE 25th Ave. Ocala, FL 34471 Phone: 352-438-2300 Fax: 352-438-2324 District 1 - Craig Curry, Vice Chairman
District 2 - Kathy Bryant, Commissioner
District 3 - Jeff Gold, Commissioner
District 4 - Carl Zalak III, Chairman
District 5 - Michelle Stone, Commissioner

December 21, 2021

Via Email: william.burke@dot.state.fl.us

William Burke, PLA, Project Manager Florida Department of Transportation P.O. Box 613069 Ocoee, FL 34761-3069

RE: Northern Turnpike Extension

Dear Mr. Burke:

As the Northern Turnpike Extension project begins the Public Information phase, Marion County's foremost objective is to remind the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) that our adopted comprehensive plan prohibits the development of expressways or toll roads within the Farmland Preservation Area (FPA).

Furthermore, Marion County encourages FDOT to consider the following items while developing the final alignment as authorized by House Bill (HB) 763:

- 1. Demonstrate how this extension will enhance the traffic flow on I-75 and the major corridors in Southwest Marion County such as CR 484, SR 200 and SR 40 including their related interchanges,
- 2. Further examine and evaluate the MCORES' recommendations,
- 3. Make every effort to avoid impact to existing developed residential subdivisions, and
- 4. Mitigate any and all environmental impacts.

Thank you for your consideration and we respectfully request to be kept informed as this project progresses through the different phases of development.

Sincerely,

Carl Zalak, III, Chairman Marion County Board of County Commissioners

c: Craig Curry, Vice Chairman
Kathy Bryant, Commissioner
Jeff Gold, Commissioner
Michelle Stone, Commissioner
Mounir Bouyounes, PE, County Administrator
Tracy Straub, PE, Assistant County Administrator
Elton Holland, PE, County Engineer